Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services
Department for Community Based Services

Kentucky Permanency Roundtables

Region of the Month

The Department for Community Based Services has nine regions:

  • Cumberland Service Region
  • Eastern Mountain Service Region
  • Jefferson Service Region
  • Northeastern Service Region
  • Northern Bluegrass Service Region
  • Salt River Trail Service Region
  • The Lakes Service Region
  • Two Rivers Service Region

We are very proud of the dedication and determination of each region in its goal to find a forever home for Kentucky's children. Each month a region will be showcased spotlighting its efforts.


Every child deserves to have an opportunity for permanency in his or her life. 

Children in Kentucky’s out-of-home-care system  long for forever families who believe in them, love them and desire life’s very best for them. They anxiously await an opportunity to develop a lifetime connection with another person who will be there for them throughout their life journey. Our daily efforts on behalf of permanency for the children we serve really does have the ability to change the lives of children and to help them find their wings and their forever families. Sometimes, the challenges are many; but, there is no greater reward than seeing a child and his or her new family connect for a lifetime. 

Permanency is not a place. It’s the key to a child’s heart. It’s the light in a child's eyes. It’s the smile on children's faces. It’s the love that develops and warms their souls. Permanency is for every child.   


The Roundtables are currently meeting for training in all nine service regions. Please visit the Calendar page for dates and locations.